Martin Parr -Part of the role of photography is to exaggerate

I came across this interview from The Telegraph this week, the article is from a 2011 an interview with Martin Parr. It struck a chord and got me thinking about my current work , about the truth of taking photographs.

http://www.telegraph.co.uk/culture/art/art-features/8723045/The-foibles-of-the-world.html

“If you go to the supermarket and buy a package of food and look at the photo on the front, the food never looks like that inside, does it? That is a fundamental lie we are sold every day. Part of the role of photography is to exaggerate, and that is an aspect that I have to puncture. I do that by showing the world as I really find it.”

When he is taking a photograph, Parr says, his prime responsibility isn’t towards the people in shot, but to his viewer and to his own sense of the truth of the scene. “When someone says to you, ‘Oh, I don’t take a good picture,’ what they mean is they haven’t come to terms with how they look,” he says. “They take a fine picture, it’s just that their image of how they think they look is not in touch with the reality.”

“He shoots as he talks, with unflinching certainty and not a hint of self doubt. When I ask if he ever seeks a person’s permission before photographing them, that pained expression reappears. “You would never get anything done if you did that,” he says. “And besides, you still have the legal and moral right in this country to photograph anyone in a public place and do what you like with it.” So there.”

This is something I came to challenge in my self portraits , I had to accept that  I don’t actually look like I think I look and have to accept what the camera tells me. I have to challenge the truth and accept what is in front of me rather the lies I can tell.

Thanks for reading

Do it for Francesca

Leave a Reply

